ATS, the Finnish Nuclear Society, was founded in 1966, with the advent of nuclear technology applications in Finland.

As a scientific society, ATS has a broad scope of activities encompassing all aspects of nuclear engineering and science. The society's primary mission is to serve as a connecting link between and as an information exchange channel for professionals employed by different organizations in the nuclear field. In the end of 2010 ATS had 708 members.

There are several working groups inside ATS, such as, ATS Young Generation for members younger than 38 years, ATS Seniors for members already retired and Energy Channel for women working in the nuclear field.

The goals of the society's activities are just as topical today as they were when ATS was founded. In accordance with the society by-laws, the aims of ATS are: to promote knowledge and development of the nuclear field in Finland; to act as a connecting link between members, thus contributing to the exchange of experience and deepening of professional skills; and the exchange of information and experience at the international level.

ATS is a member society of the European Nuclear Society and we have international co-operation with other nuclear societies. ATS is also a member of the Federation of Finnish Learned Societies.



ATS organizes seminars and excursions for it's members, for example the annual meeting and the autumn seminar that is usually the biggest event of the year. Excursion destinations include both national and international destinations. In addition, ATS publishes ATS Ydintekniikka quarterly.



Joining ATS is possible by filling an application form. Print, fill and send the form to sihteeri(at) 


Supporting members

If you would like to become a supporting member please contact someone in the board. A supporting member has to be a physical person or incorporated society. Supporting members don't have the right to vote. Supporting members can participate to society's meetings and events. Fee to supporting members is 600 €.

ATS has currently the following supporting members: